Board of Directors

Board of Directors


Susan D. Shaw, Dr. P.H., President
Founder & Executive Director
Shaw Institute
,  Blue Hill, ME
Adjunct Professor,
School of Public Health, University at Albany
Blue Hill, ME & New York, NY

H. Richard Dietrich, 
President, Dietrich American Foundation
Chevy Chase, MD
& Blue Hill, ME

Rick Keating, Vice-President
CEO, keating/co
New York, NY

Greg Sundberg, Treasurer
President, Sundberg & Associates, Inc.
New York, NY



Martha Dischinger 
Partner, Downeast Properties
Blue Hill & Brooksville, ME

Cosmo Fagundo
Principal, Wilco Management
Chair, Economic Development Committee
San Jose Silicon Valley Chamber of Commerce 
​Mountain View, CA

David Gallo, Ph.D.
Former Director, Special Projects
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute
Woods Hole, MA

Liz McDermott
Liz McDermott Interiors
New York, NY & Atlanta, GA

Matthew Newton 
Timucuam Asset Mgmt., LLC
East Haddam, CT
& Blue Hill, ME

Honorary Director

Richard Gurin
Former President & CEO, Binney & Smith
Blue Hill, ME


Scientific Advisory Board


David O. Carpenter, M.D.
Professor, School of Public Health
University at Albany, NY
Director, Institute for Health and the Environment
Albany, NY

Advisory Board

John Calambokidis
Senior Research Biologist and
Co-Founder, Cascadia Research
Olympia, WA

Ann Cleveland, Ph.D.
Chair and Associate Professor of Marine Biology
Corning School of Ocean Studies
Maine Maritime Academy
Castine, ME

Sylvain De Guise, DMV, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathobiology
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT

Rik L. de Swart, Ph.D.
Erasmus University
Department of Virology
Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Mark E. Hahn, Ph.D.
Associate Scientist, Biology Department
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Woods Hole, MA

Jeremy Jackson, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Marine Biodiversity & Conservation (retired)
Scripps Institution of Oceanography
University of California
San Diego, CA

Kurunthachalam Kannan, Ph.D.
Chief, Laboratory of Organic Analytical Chemistry
Wadsworth Center, New York State Department of Health
Professor, Department of Environmental Health Sciences
School of Public Health, State University of New York-Albany
Albany, NY

Nancy Knowlton, Ph.D.
Sant Chair, Marine Science and Invertebrate Zoology
Smithsonian Institution
National Museum of Natural History
Washington, DC

Angela Matz, Ph.D.
Contaminants Specialist
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Northern Alaska Ecological Services
Anchorage, AK

Paul A. Mayewski, Ph.D.
Director and Professor
Climate Change Institute
University of Maine
Orono, ME

A.D.M.E. Osterhaus, DVM, Ph.D.
Institute of Virology
Erasmus University
Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Olaf Päpke, Ph.D.
Eurofins | ERGO Research Center
Hamburg, Germany                                                

Neal Pettigrew, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Oceanography
University of Maine
Director, Maine Oceanographic Services
Orono, ME

Deborah Rice, Ph.D.
Toxicologist, Environmental Health Unit
Maine Bureau of Health
Augusta, ME

Anna Roos, Ph.D.
Curator, Department of Environmental Research and Monitoring
Swedish Museum of Natural History
Stockholm, Sweden

Peter S. Ross, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Vancouver Aquarium
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Shinsuke Tanabe, Ph.D.
Department of Environmental Conservation
Ehime University, College of Agriculture
Matsuyama, Japan

Sean Todd, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Advanced Studies
College of the Atlantic
Senior Scientist, Allied Whale
Bar Harbor, ME

Roland Weber, Ph.D.
POPs Environmental Consulting
Schwäbisch Gmünd, Germany

Peter G. Wells, Ph.D.
Research Scientist and Principal
Oceans Won
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada